I Want To Be A Big Brother

selfish[ sel-fish ]
adjective
1. devoted to or caring only for oneself; concerned primarily with one’s own interests, benefits, welfare, etc., regardless of others.
2. characterized by or manifesting concern or care only for oneself: selfish motives.

Selfishness can come through a persons personality in many ways. A lot of the time we are not even conscious of our own selfish thoughts because we don’t directly consider ourselves actually being selfish.

But I have come to realize that I have been selfish quite a bit. With the constant desire to change my habits, improve the quality of my life, and overall better myself, I have grown to be self absorbed with my own progress and success.

Can you guess the keyword from this phrase, “With the constant desire to change my habits, improve the quality of my life, and overall better myself, I have grown to be self absorbed with my own progress and success.” ?

My
My
My

I recall one of the chapters from a book I read a few years back called “Becoming Like God”, the author wrote about eliminating selflessness by cutting out words like I and My from our vocabularies.

I did it for 2 weeks. It was a good training exercise. I realized how often I speak about myself and it made me reconsider many things.

Now 2-3 years later I have realized the same thing.

Although I only have good intentions and I aspire to be myBestSelf specifically so I can manifest the lifestyle design that I daydream of, there are other ways to accomplish such things.

In my opinion, the benefits of helping others is much more beneficial than that of consistently helping yourself.
By helping others you grow through different channels of thought. Rather than feel invigorated by your own efforts to better yourself, you receive benefits from another’s persons energy. Seeing someone smile or show gratitude does something to your soul. It fills it up with love.
Love that cannot be taken away. It’s the kind of love that brings tears to your eyes. Happy tears.

So with that said, I signed up to be a Big Brother today and I hope they accept my application.

Sincerely,
Marcos Mendosa
YourBestSelf.ca

BIG BROTHERS BIG SISTERS OF TORONTO

20120904-160121.jpg

It wasn't long before Marcos enrolled himself into a life coaching program that made him a certified Personal Empowerment Life Coach. With dreams of traveling the world as a motivational speaker, Marcos grabbed a firm hold of his dreams and decided to take action. The combination of his two passions, music and expressive guidance, led him to create a joint venture with a fellow mastermind called Niko Sofianos. Together they formed a group of artists called A.D.D. (Alternate Drive & Destiny), an array of musical talent that each share the common negative stigma known as Attention Deficit Disorder. Rather than accept that ADD is a negative deficiency, they strive to exemplify that ADD has a higher understanding of brain activity that has simply been misunderstood.  Together they strive to empower individuals with the newly discovered scientific research that proves ADD is a form of creative genius that is integrating with human consciousness and is forcing us to look at the world and each other in a whole new way. 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in blogs, fun and awesome, grounded, motivation, self help, self-discipline

Leave a Reply

