Radio Programming: CBC

I feel like I must let out some thoughts about something that has come into my life and has left me intrigued on a daily basis. 3 months ago I started a new job that has given me the opportunity to listen to the radio all day since there is no cd player. Usually I would have Z103.5, Flow 93.5, 92.5, 99.9, and 102.1 on my presets, but that’s changed now. Out of curiosity I began listening to CBC Radio 1 99.1fm. I remember scanning through the radio stations and hearing a voice that sounded very soothing, witty, and charming. Since the radio has the auto-scan feature, I quickly stopped scanning and turned back the dial to that voice that I heard. I left it on the station that caught my attention and listened in with an open mind. It turns out that the voice I heard was that of Mr. Jian Gomeshi from the radio show Q at 10:00am. Immediately after listening in for about 2 minutes I was hooked. I remember thinking to myself, “ wow this guy has a very powerful way of delivering his message”.

I tuned in when he was speaking about “Q News” with Kanye West’s “Flashing Lights” instrumental. I found that the news segment was intriguing. From that moment on I couldn’t change the dial even if I wanted to. I was hooked! I have learnt so much about certain artists from around the world, and topics that relate to cultural diversity, arts, politics, and all sorts of entertainment. I’ve spent hours just watching episodes of Q on the CBC website, and learning the ways of the wise when it comes to writing compelling introductions and asking in depth questions that will captivate a persons ego in such a way that will leave them wanting to answer questions thoroughly. I’m so excited and eager to be sitting in the chair across from him someday in the near future. What’s a guy gotta do? Win some Juno’s? Write a book? Travel the world and come back with an epic story? Invent your own style of music called “Tangoton”? (lol)
The man (Jian) has become a role model in my eyes and for that I salute you! Keep up the amazing work.

Since the day I began listening to CBC Radio 1 I have began to explore the world of CBC radio to the max. I usually start work at 6:30am so from the minute I start to the minute I finish, I’m constantly listening to the all the wonderful programs they have to offer. From “Metro Morning” all the way to “Here and Now” I’ve learned to become a huge fan of the content shared on this station. My personal favourites are “The Current” with Anna Maria Tremonti, “Q” with Jian Gomeshi, “DNTO” with Sook Yin Lee, and “Living Out Loud” with Robin Brown. Each one of these programs teache me something worth learning, and for that I’m ever grateful.

The personalities of each hosts are so easy to listen to, and I find myself very much into the program. The past 3 months I have spread the word about CBC and their radio programming to as many people as I possibly can. I’ve downloaded the App for my iPhone so that I can always keep up with what’s going on when I’m not at work or away from my workspace. That App is remarkable. Through it I have learned about CBC Radio 2 and 3. I had no idea that CBC’s programming was so diverse. Well, I guess I did know since I went to school in the CBC building, but I never looked into it. CBC Radio 3 has amazing programming as well. The podcasts are amazing and the music selection is very entertaining. I’m very eager to get my music played on CBC Radio 3, since it is “The Home of Independent Canadian Music”. If your reading this, I highly recommend you visit http://www.cbc.ca and have a quick browse of everything that CBC has to offer. You won’t regret it! Enjoy!
Marcos Mendosa

Written on: April 22,2010

 

 

It wasn't long before Marcos enrolled himself into a life coaching program that made him a certified Personal Empowerment Life Coach. With dreams of traveling the world as a motivational speaker, Marcos grabbed a firm hold of his dreams and decided to take action. The combination of his two passions, music and expressive guidance, led him to create a joint venture with a fellow mastermind called Niko Sofianos. Together they formed a group of artists called A.D.D. (Alternate Drive & Destiny), an array of musical talent that each share the common negative stigma known as Attention Deficit Disorder. Rather than accept that ADD is a negative deficiency, they strive to exemplify that ADD has a higher understanding of brain activity that has simply been misunderstood.  Together they strive to empower individuals with the newly discovered scientific research that proves ADD is a form of creative genius that is integrating with human consciousness and is forcing us to look at the world and each other in a whole new way. 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in blogs, stories, the beauty behind being random

Leave a Reply

