Crush It Gary Vaynerchuk

Hello yourBS Blog Nation.  Meet Gary

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=UgvjT6W31hM#!

I can say a lot about this experience. It was a moment that I anticipated ever since I read the first page of his book “Crush It”. I would hope that all of you have had a moment where you read a book that changed your life. I’ve had many moments like that but this was different. What made this moment different was that after reading Crush It, I immediately took action. As a matter of fact I would only read one chapter at a time and put in action steps as I followed the books instructions. By doing so I managed to not miss any steps along the way to manifesting my desire to cash in on my passion. It was Crush It that made me start this blog. It was Crush It that motivated me to take control of my life and start organizing my life according to what brings me true happiness.

It was 4 months ago when I met a gentleman in a Starbucks cafe and was presented with this book. I quickly updated my Facebook status saying, “Guys, this amazing book just fell on my lap!”.

The way that it fell on my lap was by what most people would call a “coincidence”. Although there’s no such thing, I’m sure you know what I mean.

I was sitting inside Starbucks doing some work on my laptop and I just so happen to have made eye contact with a gentleman that I’ve seen at that Starbucks consistently for about 5 years and never sparked a conversation with. This time i just had to say qhello. He was sitting across from me and I figured it was time to put myBS principles to use.

We began to have an interesting conversation. It started off with the basics. “Hey, how are you, I’ve seen you around, what do you do for a living etc etc.”.

I told him my story proudly. I explained my passions for motivational speaking, life coaching, film, and music. As I explained my ultimate goals in life, (getting paid to do work on projects involving any one of my passions), he stopped me and said, “you know what I have something for you.”. The gentleman pulled out a small black book with green writing that had a hard to pronounce last name at first glance. The book was only 142 pages long and was titled “CRUSH IT – WHY NOW IS THE TIME TO CASH IN ON YOUR PASSION”.

Boom.

To my astonishment I was blown away. The book literally fell on my lap!

I didn’t even open it to read anything, I just said I’ll be right back and went next door to the Chapters book store that was adjacent to the Starbucks and I bought it.

I came back to the table to show him that I had to buy it and I thanked him for the inspiration.

I recall sitting in my car for 45 minutes in the parking lot, completely hooked and intrigued by the way Gary Vaynerchuk’s writing connected to my soul. The man was on a serious roll. Sentence after sentence he had me wanting to read the next word consistently.

I cleared a good 5 chapters that night. Piece of cake.

The next day I signed up for this blog. I already had loads of content on my iPhone so i was eager to start posting blogs.

I followed all the steps in the book thoroughly and within a week I already had over 500 visits. It was epic!

One of my passions has always been to host a television program. Initially I decided to start a vlog called “YourBS”. A program designed to aspire to inspire society to become their best selves. While I was in the process of planning the content of the show, I had an acquaintance contact me offering a position as the segment producer for a television show called Dare to Dream. I accepted the responsibility and went straight to work.

4 months later, Thursday July 26 I covered a segment at Social Mix 2012 at the Fairmont Royal York Hotel in Toronto, Canada. The event was a conference hosted by Jugnoo, A Social CRM based company in conjunction with the Remix Project. They had 13 social media experts come and give a keynote to a crowd of 600 people. Among the guest speakers was you know who. Mr Gary Vaynerchuk.

I was told that Gary had a flight delay so he was going to be late. I hoped they I could catch him for a quick 30 second sound clip. Something along the lines of ” Hey this is Gary V and your watching yourBestSelf with Marcos Mendosa.”.

It would have been all I needed.

After I finished interviewing most of the guests I figured its time to pack up and head out.
As I had my back faced towards the main entrance of the media room, I couldn’t see who was stepping in and out of the doorway. As i lifted my camera bag and turned around, to my surprise when I turned around there was Gary V sitting by myself working away on his laptop.

Without hesitation I approached him and said some words of gratitude and appreciation to him. I explained how his book had actually changed my life and how my life has evolved ever since I bought Crush It. I also mentioned that I bought 4 copies that week and gave them away to my friends. As I was faced eye to eye with him speaking directly and partially emotionally, I can admit my eyes began to water up and I had goosebumps on my skin. I told him to look at my arms because I was getting shivers and he pointed at his arms and said, “trust me your not the only one with goosebumps check out my arms.”.

As I was preparing to leave the conversation I mentioned to him that it was too bad I couldn’t get an interview with him but that I’d be more than happy if he can do a quick sound clip for the show.

He said, “of course we can do an interview, let’s sneak one in real quick before I go do my keynote”.

Boom!

The rest is history.

I’d like to give a special thank you to the other guests I interviewed. I learned a lot from each of you and I look forward to applying all that I learned into my own life in the days to come.

Thank you:
Amber Mac (Power Friending – Book)

Danny Brown (Jugnoo – Blogger

Gini Dietrich (SpinSucks – Author)

Saul Colt (The Smartest Man in the World)

Yasser Prevaise (Remix Project)

P.S. that morning Social Mix 2012 was trending #1 globally on Twitter.

Crush It Gary Vaynerchuk

Crush It Gary Vaynerchuk

Marcos Mendosa & Amber Mac

Marcos Mendosa & Amber Mac

It wasn't long before Marcos enrolled himself into a life coaching program that made him a certified Personal Empowerment Life Coach. With dreams of traveling the world as a motivational speaker, Marcos grabbed a firm hold of his dreams and decided to take action. The combination of his two passions, music and expressive guidance, led him to create a joint venture with a fellow mastermind called Niko Sofianos. Together they formed a group of artists called A.D.D. (Alternate Drive & Destiny), an array of musical talent that each share the common negative stigma known as Attention Deficit Disorder. Rather than accept that ADD is a negative deficiency, they strive to exemplify that ADD has a higher understanding of brain activity that has simply been misunderstood.  Together they strive to empower individuals with the newly discovered scientific research that proves ADD is a form of creative genius that is integrating with human consciousness and is forcing us to look at the world and each other in a whole new way. 

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in blogs, conversations, motivation, stories

Leave a Reply

